Thank you for a successful President’s Dinner!

Thanks to everyone for making this year’s event so special and enjoyed by all! There was a lot of hard work put into the event by all volunteers and I sincerely thank you for all you did to make this year’s dinner a success! I apologize for the length of this post but I want to make sure to thank everyone properly.
The event was highlighted by the Green Carpet Photo Shoot – a special addition to this year’s event.  You may view and purchase photos here (downloads disabled):
The event was capped off with a preview of the short film we are working on – as promised we have posted it for public viewing – read more below!
Since 2002, thanks to then President, Ed Hollander, our chapter has hosted an annual President’s Dinner as a fundraiser  to facilitate the chapter in providing year-round educational and networking programs for members. This year we are proud to say we raised more than any other year thanks to the generosity of so many great sponsors. Thank you to all of the sponsors, vendors and volunteers listed below:
Platinum: Unilock
Hardscrabble Farms
Site Specialists
Town and Gardens, Ltd.
West 8
Central Park Conservancy
LONGSHADOW Planters & Garden Ornaments
Landscape Forms
John Mini Distinctive Landscapes
Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP
Bartlett Tree Experts
Bedford Carp Construction
Hollander Design Landscape Architects
James Corner Field Operations
Kelco Landscaping and Construction
Mathews Nielsen
Scape/Landscape Architecture PLLC
Starr Whitehouse Landscape Architects
Thomas Balsley Associates
Turner Construction
Valley Crest Landscape Companies

MRC /GameTime

Green Carpet:
Elite Synthetic Surfaces






Architect’s Newspaper
B. Thayer Associates
MSM Empire Construction Corp
Nancy Owens Studio LLC
Robin Key Landscape Architecture
Steven Dubner Landscaping

Amereq, Inc. /CU Soil Division
Curb Allure
Delta Fountains
eDesign Dynamics, LLC
Levien & Company, Inc.
Maglin Site Furniture
Marras Illumination
Menaker & Herrmann LLP
Magnusson Klemencic Associates
Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Inc.
Modern Design & Site Furnishings
Northern Designs
Soho Reprographics
Tillotson Design Associates
Victor Stanley
W Architecture and Landscape Architecture, LLC
WXY architecture + urban design

President’s Award for Environmental Stewardship
Dr. Judith Rodin, President, The Rockefeller Foundation
President’s Award for Service and Leadership
Leslie Koch, President, The Trust for Governors Island
President’s Award for Promoting the Profession
Shannon Troetel, Assistant News Director, Time Warner Cable News NY1
Jamie Maslyn Larson of West 8
Kate and Jamie, your speeches were fabulous and inspiring and gave our honorees an introduction they deserved.
Jennifer Nitzky, Chair
Adrian Benepe
Carl Carlson
Kathleen Cholewka
Katie Claffey
Diana Darling
Naomi Drucker
Alison Duncan
Lisa DuRussel
Kevin Kenney
Robin Key
Stephen Koren
Rebecca Lederer
Gareth Mahon
Jamie Maslyn Larson
Ryan Morrison
Mary Nunn
Sean O’Leary
Melissa Potter-Ix
Josh Price
Kathy Shea
Adrian Smith
Laura Starr
Frank Varro
Amy Verel
Adrianne Weremchuk
Annette Wilkus
Denisha Williams
Table Design
The River Garden

Naomi Drucker
Gareth Mahon

Graphic Design
C & G Partners

Additional Graphic Support
Rebecca Lederer, Program
Ryan Morrison, Posters
Mary Nunn, Table Cards

Dinner Photography
Stephen Grande, Jr.

Audio Visual
Power Posse Productions

Event Planning
Kathleen Cholewka, After Party
Nette Compton
Jennifer Nitzky
Kathy Shea
Amy Verel

Film Committee
Jennifer Nitzky, Co-Chair
Stephen Koren, Co-Chair
Kathleen Cholewka
Adrian Smith
Frank Varro

Film Participants
Elena Brescia, ASLA
Joseph Disponzio, ASLA
M Paul Friedberg, FASLA
Ed Hollander, FASLA
Signe Nielsen, FASLA
Christopher Nolan, FASLA
Nicholas Quennell, FASLA
Laura Starr, ASLA
Donna Walcavage, FASLA
Annette Wilkus, FASLA

Film Production
AD Lubow, LLC




I know there are more people involved so I want to say thank you to all – I feel very blessed to be surrounded by such great people. You all make me very proud to be a part of the New York Chapter!
And Finally, I am very pleased to announce the public unveiling of our 100th Anniversary Short Film preview! This was an exciting project that I wanted to do this year to really highlight our chapter’s accomplishments over the last 100 years and and encapsulate our moment in time for years to come. The film viewing at the dinner was definitely a highlight and it was so wonderful to hear the firms and friends of the participants cheer throughout the room when they appeared on screen. I sincerely hope to continue creating videos and hope we have inspired some wonderful sponsors to enable us to produce future videos in the next year and beyond.

Without further ado, please view and share our short film preview – and we will notify you all when the final, longer version is ready. Click here to view our film!

JNitzky Signature
Jennifer Nitzky, RLA, ASLA, ISA
ASLA-NY President-Elect
Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP