ASLA National Announces 2022 Professional Awards

October 3, 2022 /

ASLA National Announces 2022 Professional Awards

Twenty-eight Professional Award winners represent the highest level of achievement in the landscape architecture profession

Site Plan: As a living shoreline, the restoration project uses natural breakwater features to protect the freshwater West Pond.
Honor Award Winner for General Design – West Pond: Living Shoreline by Dirtworks Landscape Architecture P.C

Oct. 3, 2022 (WASHINGTON)—Today the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced its 2022 Professional Awards. Twenty-eight Professional Award winners represent the highest level of achievement in the landscape architecture profession. ASLA-NY is proud to congratulation our local winners:

Dirtworks Landscape Architecture P.C ,  Grain Collective Landscape Architecture & Urban Design PLLCHargreaves Jones, James Corner Field OperationsMichael Van Valkenburgh Associates

All winners and their locations are listed below.


Jury panels representing a broad cross-section of the profession, from the public and private sectors, and academia, select winners each year. The 28 winners were chosen  out of 506 entries.


The Professional Awards jury also selects a Landmark Award each year; this year’s Landmark Award celebrates “​​Crissy Field:  An Enduring Transformation” by Hargreaves Jones for the Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy. Crissy Field, in San Francisco’s famed Presidio, features restored coastal habitat, recreational amenities and historical interpretation.


“ASLA Professional Awards for decades have recognized the most significant achievements by landscape architects nationwide, and we congratulate this year’s winners for their extraordinary contributions to their communities and the profession,” said ASLA President Eugenia Martin, FASLA. “Many of this year’s winning projects were focused on reconnecting communities to landscapes, illustrating the important role landscape architects play in creating places for communities to live, work, and play.”


“These award winners underscore how landscape architects are problem- solving some of the biggest challenges facing communities around the globe,” said ASLA CEO Torey Carter-Conneen. “From equitable community gathering spaces to addressing climate change, these winners represent the cutting edge of our industry.”

A group of people in a park Description automatically generated with low confidence

ASLA 2022 Professional Urban Design Honor Award. Denny Regrade Campus. Seattle, Washington. Site Workshop / Stuart Issett

Beginning this year, award winners will be archived in the Library of Congress. In addition, Award recipients and their clients will be honored in person at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA 2022 Conference on Landscape Architecture in San Francisco, Calif., November 11-14. Media are invited to attend; please email for credentials. For more information visit:


Members of the media please contact to request hi-res images.



Award Categories


General Design


Award of Excellence

Title: Palm Springs Downtown Park

Palm Springs, California



Honor Award

Title: From Brownfield to Green Anchor in the Assembly Square District

Somerville, Massachusetts



Honor Award

Title: West Pond: Living Shoreline

Brooklyn & Queens, New York

Dirtworks Landscape Architecture P.C.


Honor Award

Title: Riverfront Spokane

Spokane, Washington

Berger Partnership


Honor Award

Title: 10,000 SUNS: Highway to Park Project

Providence, Rhode Island



Honor Award

Title: Domino Park

Brooklyn, New York

James Corner Field Operations


Honor Award

Title: A Community’s Embrace Responding to Tragedy, The January 8th Memorial and the El Presidio Park Vision Plan

Tucson, Arizona

Chee Salette, Tina Chee Landscape Studio



Urban Design


Award of Excellence

Title: HOPE SF: Rebuild Potrero

San Francisco, California

GLS Landscape | Architecture


Honor Award

Title: Midtown Park

Houston, Texas

Design Workshop, Inc


Honor Award

Title: Shirley Chisholm State Park

New York, New York

Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates


Honor Award

Title: Denny Regrade Campus

Seattle, WA

Site Workshop



Residential Design


Award of Excellence

Title: Edwin M. Lee Apartments

San Francisco, California

GLS Landscape | Architecture



Honor Award

Title: Coast Ridge Residence

Portola Valley, California

Scott Lewis Landscape Architecture


Honor Award

Title: Quarry House

Park City, Utah

Design Workshop, Inc


Honor Award

Title: Crest Apartments, A Restorative Parallel for Supportive Housing

Van Nuys, California 

Tina Chee Landscape Studio, SWA Group


Honor Award

Title: Refugio

Santa Cruz, California

Ground Studio



Analysis & Planning


Honor Award

Title: Connecting People and Landscape: Integrating Cultural Landscapes, Climate Resiliency, and Growth Management in the Low Country

Beaufort County, South Carolina

Design Workshop, Inc


Honor Award

Title: Moakley Park Resilience Plan

Boston, Massachusetts

Stoss Landscape Urbanism


Honor Award

Title: Preparing the Ground: Restorative Justice on Portland’s Interstate 5

Portland, Oregon

ZGF Architects


Honor Award

Title: Reimagine Nature and Inclusion for Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City, Utah

Design Workshop, Inc



Honor Award

Title: Accelerating Rural Recovery and Resilience: The Pollocksville Community Floodprint

Pollocksville, North Carolina

NC State University Coastal Dynamics Design Lab




Honor Award

Title: Talk Tree to Me: Facilitating a Complex Conversation Around Trees in Detroit

Detroit, Michigan

Spackman Massop Michaels


Honor Award

Title: Miridae Mobile Nursery: Growing a Native Plant Community

Sacramento Region, California



Honor Award

Title: Open Space Master Plan, New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA)

New York City, New York

Grain Collective Landscape Architecture & Urban Design PLLC





Honor Award

Title: Curbing Sediment: A Proof of Concept

The Ohio State University

Halina Steiner & Ryan Winston


Honor Award

Title: Soilless Soils: Investigation of Recycled Color-Mixed Glass in Engineered Soils

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania



Honor Award

Title: Alabama Meadows

Auburn, Alabama

Emily Knox, ASLA; and  David Hill, ASLA



About ASLA and the ASLA Fund


Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is the professional association for landscape architects in the United States, representing more than 15,000 members. ASLA Mission: Empowering our members to design a sustainable and equitable world through landscape architecture. ASLA Fund Mission: Investing in global, social, and environmental change through the art and science of landscape architecture.



Scroll to Top